Devon Estes http://devonestes.com The personal blog of Devon Estes Sat, 01 Oct 2022 08:16:26 +0000 en-us The Parable of Painting an Office Wed, 03 Feb 2021 01:01:01 +0000 http://devonestes.com/the-parable-of-painting-an-office http://devonestes.com/the-parable-of-painting-an-office Three Ways To Get Started With Mutation Testing Tue, 12 Jan 2021 01:01:01 +0000 http://devonestes.com/three-ways-to-get-started-with-mutation-testing http://devonestes.com/three-ways-to-get-started-with-mutation-testing Three Classes of Problems Found by Mutation Testing Wed, 18 Nov 2020 01:01:01 +0000 http://devonestes.com/examples-of-mutation-testing http://devonestes.com/examples-of-mutation-testing Announcing Muzak and Muzak Pro Mon, 16 Nov 2020 01:01:01 +0000 http://devonestes.com/announcing_muzak http://devonestes.com/announcing_muzak Migrating to Elixir with the Strangler Pattern Mon, 28 Sep 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/migrating-to-elixir-with-the-strangler-pattern http://devonestes.com/migrating-to-elixir-with-the-strangler-pattern Designing For Elixir Compiler Hints Mon, 07 Sep 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/designing-for-elixir-compiler-hints http://devonestes.com/designing-for-elixir-compiler-hints Testing Third Party Integrations Tue, 21 Jul 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/testing-third-party-integrations http://devonestes.com/testing-third-party-integrations Trying To Speed Up Compilation With Absinthe Wed, 10 Jun 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/trying-to-speed-up-compilation-with-absinthe http://devonestes.com/trying-to-speed-up-compilation-with-absinthe Local Metrics Aggregation With Counters Fri, 01 May 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/local-metrics-aggregation-with-counters http://devonestes.com/local-metrics-aggregation-with-counters What's Inside a Reduction? Mon, 02 Mar 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/inside-a-reduction http://devonestes.com/inside-a-reduction A proposal for an Absinthe application structure Mon, 27 Jan 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/a-proposal-for-absinthe-project-structure http://devonestes.com/a-proposal-for-absinthe-project-structure Writing (and testing) a custom Credo check Mon, 20 Jan 2020 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/writing-and-testing-a-custom-credo-check http://devonestes.com/writing-and-testing-a-custom-credo-check The truth about hiring Fri, 27 Dec 2019 00:00:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/the-truth-about-hiring http://devonestes.com/the-truth-about-hiring A Sneak Peek at Elixir 1.10 Mon, 18 Nov 2019 00:00:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/sneak-peek-at-elixir-1-10 http://devonestes.com/sneak-peek-at-elixir-1-10 Adding Gleam to your Elixir project Wed, 23 Oct 2019 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/adding-gleam-to-your-elixir-project http://devonestes.com/adding-gleam-to-your-elixir-project From Elixir to Erlang Wed, 12 Jun 2019 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/elixir-erlang http://devonestes.com/elixir-erlang Decoding Dialyzer - Part 1 Thu, 14 Mar 2019 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/decoding-dialyzer http://devonestes.com/decoding-dialyzer Soft delete with Ecto 3 and Postgres Thu, 21 Feb 2019 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/soft-delete-with-ecto-3-and-postgres http://devonestes.com/soft-delete-with-ecto-3-and-postgres Unit Tests in Elixir - Part 3 Mon, 10 Dec 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/unit-tests-in-elixir-part-3 http://devonestes.com/unit-tests-in-elixir-part-3 A Proposal for Some New Rules for Phoenix Contexts Tue, 20 Nov 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/a-proposal-for-context-rules http://devonestes.com/a-proposal-for-context-rules Unit Tests in Elixir - Part 2 Fri, 02 Nov 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/unit-tests-in-elixir-part-2 http://devonestes.com/unit-tests-in-elixir-part-2 Unit Tests in Elixir - Part 1 Thu, 18 Oct 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/unit-tests-in-elixir-part-1 http://devonestes.com/unit-tests-in-elixir-part-1 Benchmarking with StreamData Thu, 04 Oct 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/benchmarking-with-stream-data http://devonestes.com/benchmarking-with-stream-data Avoiding flaky tests in Phoenix Fri, 07 Sep 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/avoiding-flakey-tests http://devonestes.com/avoiding-flakey-tests Writing custom Credo checks Wed, 29 Aug 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/writing-custom-credo-checks http://devonestes.com/writing-custom-credo-checks Using :erlang.trace/3 to listen to garbage collection events Thu, 26 Jul 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/using-erlang-trace-3 http://devonestes.com/using-erlang-trace-3 All in Mon, 28 May 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/all-in http://devonestes.com/all-in Measuring memory consumption on the BEAM Mon, 16 Apr 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/measuring-memory-consumption-on-the-beam http://devonestes.com/measuring-memory-consumption-on-the-beam What's the deal with module attributes? Wed, 14 Feb 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/whats-the-deal-with-module-attributes http://devonestes.com/whats-the-deal-with-module-attributes How I run tests Mon, 22 Jan 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/how-i-run-tests http://devonestes.com/how-i-run-tests "For the right candidate" Sun, 14 Jan 2018 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/for-the-right-candidate http://devonestes.com/for-the-right-candidate Benchmarking guard clauses Thu, 07 Dec 2017 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/benchmarking-guard-clauses http://devonestes.com/benchmarking-guard-clauses Everything you need to know about Elixir's new formatter Mon, 09 Oct 2017 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/everything-you-need-to-know-about-elixirs-new-formatter http://devonestes.com/everything-you-need-to-know-about-elixirs-new-formatter Phoenix contexts aren't finished yet Mon, 11 Sep 2017 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/phoenix-contexts-arent-finished-yet http://devonestes.com/phoenix-contexts-arent-finished-yet Insurance Fri, 01 Sep 2017 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/insurance http://devonestes.com/insurance I don't really like pairing (but I want to) Wed, 23 Aug 2017 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/i-dont-really-like-pairing http://devonestes.com/i-dont-really-like-pairing A Big Elixir Refactoring Thu, 27 Jul 2017 00:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/a-big-elixir-refactoring http://devonestes.com/a-big-elixir-refactoring Patronizing Open Source Tue, 18 Jul 2017 10:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/patronizing-open-source http://devonestes.com/patronizing-open-source My New Favorite Elixir Testing Trick Thu, 13 Jul 2017 10:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/my-new-favorite-elixir-testing-trick http://devonestes.com/my-new-favorite-elixir-testing-trick Refactoring for Tests in Elixir Thu, 25 May 2017 10:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/refactoring-for-tests-in-elixir http://devonestes.com/refactoring-for-tests-in-elixir On Programmers and Labor Markets Fri, 17 Feb 2017 10:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/on-programmers-and-labor-markets http://devonestes.com/on-programmers-and-labor-markets I Got My Programming Time Back And So Can You Thu, 16 Jun 2016 10:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/i-got-my-programming-time-back-and-you-can-too http://devonestes.com/i-got-my-programming-time-back-and-you-can-too Implementing Elixir's Pipeline in Ruby . You see it in cases like this]]> Mon, 16 May 2016 10:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/implementing-elixirs-pipeline-in-ruby http://devonestes.com/implementing-elixirs-pipeline-in-ruby Go and Elixir - Separated at Birth? Tue, 19 Jan 2016 10:18:00 +0000 http://devonestes.com/go-and-elixir-separated-at-birth http://devonestes.com/go-and-elixir-separated-at-birth